How to control the Rabbitcast on Web

Jump to

 

What it is

The Rabbitcast is a shared screen where you can watch videos, play games, or surf the web together. It functions like a internet browser that anyone inside the room can control.

And the best part? Everyone in a room will see and hear the exact same thing at the same time.



 
Starting the Rabbitcast 

When you first enter your room, the Launchpad will be the first thing you see.



The Launchpad allows you to start and control a Rabbitcast. It contains tabs and icons for popular videos, as well as a search / URL entry bar (just like your browser).

Either click on content inside one of the tabs:

Or enter a URL or text to search for something at the top left:

expand.gif

Or see what others are doing on Rabbit. The Watch tab will show you all the current rooms hosting videos. Events will show you rooms you can browse and RSVP to for future viewing, and Groups will show you all the different topic-based groups in Rabbit. Do note, however, that if you choose either Events or Groups, you will leave whatever room you are currently in.

  

Minimizing/Expanding the Screen

The icon will help you minimize or expand the top control bar.

minexpand.gif

 

Opening/Closing the Launchpad

You can close the Launchpad by clicking the screen icon at the bottom middle. (It will also open the Launchpad if you'd like to pull it up again.)

collapselaunch.gif

 

 Adjusting the Rabbitcast Settings

You'll see several icons you can use to control the Rabbitcast's settings:

 

From left to right, these icons are the:

  • Room name. That's your room name! Click it and it'll open up more menu options:

    • Invite People. And get the party started!
    • Room Settings. There are more options here:

      • Screen_Shot_2017-12-12_at_8.26.42_PM.png
      • Theater Mode On. Go fullscreen.
      • Pin Everyone. Make everyone's video or photo take the spotlight in the room.
      • Disable A/V for All. Shh.
      • Stop Screenshare. This stops the Rabbitcast for everyone in your room. You'll only see this button if you created the room and have control of the remote. 
  • Lock/Unlock 🔒 . Make your room available for anyone on Rabbit to hop in and join, or keep your room invite-only.
  • Featured ⭐️ . A/V will be on, your room will be unlocked, but more people will be able to find your room.
  • Launchpad. Opens and closes the launchpad. Also starts the Rabbitcast.  
  • Remote. Used for navigating the Rabbitcast. Once the remote is selected, you can control the Rabbitcast using an onscreen mouse.
  • Mute. This mutes the Rabbitcast (only for you, not others in your room).
  • Volume. This adjusts the volume of the Rabbitcast (only for you, not others in your room).
  • Rabbitcast Quality. This adjusts the quality of your stream (for you, not other users). LD is recommended for users with a poor connection, HD has the best picture quality.
  • Fullscreen. Go fullscreen!


Going fullscreen

To make the Rabbitcast fullscreen, click on your room name. From there, select Room Settings>Theater Mode On to expand the Rabbit window to fit your entire screen.

You can also hit the icon with two arrows pointing away from one another. This icon will appear in the top toolbar when you're playing something in the Rabbitcast.

Another way to go fullscreen is to click Hide Bubbles to hide everyone's avatars/video feeds so that all you see on your screen is the Rabbitcast.

 

Using the remote

The remote is used to control the Rabbitcast. When you have control of the remote, it will display an arrow that follows your mouse around on the Rabbitcast. Use it just like you would your mouse to to select areas on the screen.

Screen_Recording_2017-02-24_at_10.54_AM.gif


Sharing the remote

Anyone can take control of the remote so long as it’s not in use. If the remote is...

  • Orange. You have control of the remote and can control the Rabbitcast.
  • White. The remote is up for grabs and anyone can click it to use it.
  • Gray. Someone else has control of the remote

To pass the remote to other people in your room, tap the remote so that it turns white.

_5b49cd090bf7baaa62b36aa2b11110c0__Image_2017-02-24_at_11.39.36_AM.png

Then anyone else in the room can select the remote and use it.

Note: You won't be able to share the remote while using the Share extension (as it's sharing a particular user's Chrome tab) and, because of regional content, users in different countries won't be able to share the remote on websites like Netflix


Stealing the remote 

If you’re inside your personal room (rabb.it/YOURURL) or a room you created, you can take control of the remote at any time by stealing it. Simply select the remote icon and a pop-up will appear that asks if you want to steal the remote. Select the orange Steal it button.

Screen_Shot_2017-02-24_at_11.29.20_AM.png

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk