Groups are the perfect way to connect with others in Rabbit. You can make a group focused on just about anything—a TV show, a movie, celebrity, fictional character, meme-sharing—you name it.
For now, anyone can join a Group. Group creators can moderate as needed. (Details below.)
On the bottom of the screen, there will be an icon for Groups. Tap it.
The following screen gives you options to create a group, discover and join, or catch up with Groups that you have joined.
See a group you like? Tap it to get more info. You'll see a landing page for the Group and quick description. Click the big orange Join Group button on the bottom of your screen to become a member.
On the bottom of your screen, tap the Groups icon.
The next screen will open up options for you to Discover Groups or review My Groups. Up top, you'll see a big + icon. Tap it.
In the following pop-up window, you'll be prompted to fill out the following information:
- Give your group a name. Pro tip: attract attention by being clear about what the Group will be about and choosing a name that is descriptive, but informative.
- Who should join and what is the group about? Include a short description about the Group, almost like a bio. Anyone who is interested in your group should be able to read this and know exactly what would be in store. Will your group have weekly viewing parties? Is this just a place to share info and meet friends? You decide.
- Photo. Include a photo (and choose wisely—for now, once a photo is added, it cannot be changed once a Group is made).
When you have complete the above information, click Create Group.
After visiting a Group page and deciding you'd like to join it, you'll find a Join Group button on the bottom of your screen. Tap it.
You can also click the three dots button on the top right and select Join this Group.
View Activity/Group Members
By default, the Group landing page will be on the About feed. The Activity tab will include posts contributed by the owner and members of the Group.
Tapping on About will allow you to see a description of the Group and who else has joined. Click the a member's bubble to expand their profile, or click on the > button to see a full list of who else has joined the Group.
If you expand the full list of members, you can tap the three dots next to a user to see the following options:
- Invite to watch. This invites this user to your room.
- View Profile
- Go to Their Room
- Send Message
- Remove From Group. This option is only available for owners of a group.
- Block. Hop into a user's room, or request access to enter.
- Report User
- Unfriend. This option will only appear if you are currently friends with a user.
You can post any free-form text to the Group. You can find more information about free-form posts here.
The option to comment on a post is available only to Group members.
Host a Room
You can send a mass invite to all Group members by tapping the three dots button on the top right, then on the Invite this group to my room button. You will only have this option if you are currently a member of the Group.
The first 25 people to accept the invitation will be able to join your room. If you choose to feature your room, the first 11 people to accept will be able to join.
Post a Selfie
While hosting a room after clicking the Invite all to my room button (or while joining a room through the Group), you can post a selfie from the room to the page. Learn more about selfies here.
At this time, the Group selfies will be viewable by members and non-members of the Group.
Share group link
On the About tab, there is a Share group link button that allows you to get more people to join and spread the word.
View or Host Group Events
At the top of the Group landing page, there is an Events tab. Click it.
From here, you can view events hosted specifically for this Group, or Create an event. Click Create an Event to host your own event that is only accessible to members of this Group. Learn how to create an event here.
Events posted in a Group will not appear in the Events page on the Launchpad, however, while Group members are the ones who will primarily be aware of the event, anyone else on Rabbit can also join the event.
At this time, only the Group creator is able to moderate Group activity.
If a user posts something inappropriate, tap on the three buttons icon to the right of a post to reveal the following options:
- Delete. This just deletes the post from the Group. (Currently, this feature is only available on web.)
- Block. Once a user has been removed from the Group, they cannot rejoin the Group and cannot interact with their previous posts.
- Report. Let us know if we need to investigate the post further or take additional action.
On the top left of the Group page, you'll see a three dots menu next to the Group name. Click it to see the following options:
- Share group link. Copy and paste the link anywhere to get more people interested in joining your Group. The owner and all current group members will have the option to
- Delete group. This will remove the Group and its history for you and all existing members. Only the owner will have this option available.
- Report group. Group members or someone visiting a Group landing page will see this option to report inappropriate or questionable activity.
- Leave group. Group owners cannot leave the group (only delete). Choose this option to no longer be a part of this conversation.
Head to the Groups tab and then to to My Groups. Select the Group you would like to leave. Once you are at the Group landing page, you'll see a three dots menu on the top right. Tap it then select Leave this group.